Hold On A Second. My Yogurt’s Getting Warm.

I kind of like how WordPress has a block quote formatting option. Every word processor should have one.

I’m trying to think of what time I put my laundry in, but I can’t remember…

Anyway, this has been one of the busiest weeks in April. Let me amend that statement: This semester has kicked my rear like no one’s business. I haven’t posted because of that. But, moving on!

I was thinking earlier of editing. I have two or three short stories to edit, one scene, a friend’s chapter, and two of my own manuscript chapters to go over. That may seem like a lot, and usually when I say something like, “MAN, I’ve got a lot of homework to do,” I feel my stomach drop into the abyss and not want to crawl back out. However, when I sat down and said, “MAN, I’ve got a lot of editing to do,” I was surprised by how I felt.

I actually had excitement lift into my chest. Weird, I thought, that I would sit down and go all John Wayne on something I prefix with the statement “MAN, I’ve got a lot of ________.” I really want to work through this one, so bear with me.

Granted, I know that since I’m done with classes and am now simply waiting for finals week to start, that means a huge weight has lifted off my chest, but I don’t think that’s it. Procrastination and boldfaced refusal to do my work in lieu of writing on The New Series usually gives me a boost of confidence that last-minute deadlines will boost my productivity, which is true. However, something about editing gives me a determination that I’ve not felt in any other field of work. I’m applying to be a writing tutor at my school’s academic assistance center next year simply because I love editing and watching people fulfill their own potential.

So what does this all mean?

I don’t know. Maybe it has something to do with my future and what I’ll be doing, but I won’t lie and say I absolutely have the answer. People say that the future is something we’re given one piece at a time to. I disagree. I think the future is a puzzle in a bag we pick up at a thrift store and have no idea what it looks like. When we dump everything out, we go fishing for the border pieces and try to make sense of what our puzzle may end up looking like. Then we have that annoying part where we have to put together little puzzle blobs on the outside, and maybe some of those pieces actually end up going somewhere else. Maybe we end up losing certain pieces of our puzzle, and that always hurts, always leaves a hole in our picture.

What am I saying here? I guess I’m trying to figure this out for myself. I’m 22. I only have a smidge of my puzzle done, and I think that I’ve just discovered the little blob that was trying all along to tell me I’m good at editing, when for years and years I had practically disowned the concept of editing altogether. My puzzle’s got holes in it already–that’s life. But the border isn’t even finished, either. I have hope for the future because I’ve got plenty of pieces left. Not every single one will fit. What matters is finding the ones that do.

Twopence for your thoughts (they're worth more than a penny here).

